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WHY these changes are happenin

In 2007, SEIU HealthCare NW used Washington’s initiative proc
bring to people in Washington State Initiative 1029.

The Initiative said: “Current procedures to train and educate long
term care workers and to protect the elderly are insufficient”.

The Initiative outlined sweeping changes to the long term care
worker training system.

In 2008, the Initiative passed with a majority of votes from the
itizens in our state. In 2009, it became law. These laws must now be
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Orientation and

Safety Training

What’s Changing and When?

Current

Orientation before
routine interaction
with clients

New Requirements as of 1/1/2011

Orientation 2 hours
Safety Training 3 hours before providing care
Minimum topics required listed in WAC 388-112-
0020 for residential and 388-71-0846 and 388-71-
0855 for in-home.

Basic Training

28 hours within 120

70 hours within 120 days of hire

days of hire
On-the-Job Training |N/A Not required. If used, 1 to 12 hours after 7/1/2011
Home Care Aide N/A Certification as home care aide within 150 days of
Certification hire.
Continuing Education |10 hours/year 12 hours/year after 7/1/2011.
Background checks State checks State checks and Federal for everyone after

1/1/2012.
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Affected LTC Workers

These changes effect any new direct care workers hired afte
that are listed below. These workers are now called long term ca
workers.

. All direct care workers in state-licensed:

e Adult family homes

e  Boarding homes
. Direct care employees of home care agencies
. Individual providers of home care services

. Providers of home care services to persons with developmental disabilities
under Title 71 RCW

Respite care providers

Community residential service providers

Any other direct care worker providing home or community-based
ices to the elderly or persons with a functional disabilities or

mental disabilities.

are workers must meet the new training and
iIrements (unless exempt - see next slide)
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LTC Workers Exempt from Training

Workers employed as a long term care worker any time in 2010 don’t have to t
the 75 hours of training or get certified as home care aides if they successfully
completed all their training requirements.

Workers hired between now and 12/31/2010 have their 120 days from day of hire
to meet the current 2010 training requirements. ANY Long term care worker
hired after 1/1/2011 has to meet the new training and certification requirements.

Workers who do not work in 2010 but completed training in previous years r (e.g.
have a RFOC training certificate from 2007) are NOT EXEMPT from the new
training and certification requirements. If they begin working again after
1/1/2011, they will have to take all required training and become certified (unless
exempt for other reasons).

Workers with the following credentials do not have to take 75 hours of training.
These are:

* RNSs, LPNs, nurse technician, advanced registered nurse practitioner, or NACs.

» Certified counselors, speech language pathologists or audiologists, OTs, PTs, or a
home health aide employed by a Medicare-certified home health agency.
erson with special education training and endorsement granted by the
intendent of public instruction.
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75 Hour Basic Trainin

Workers must complete the 75 hours of training with
who don’t meet this deadline can’t continue to provide
complete training and certification on their own.

Before providing care

Within 120 days of hire

itten and skills home care aide certification
sed on the core competencies and learning
objectives ONLY.
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A closer look at the training requiremen
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Orientation (2 hours) and Safety Traini

New Requirements
e LTC workers must have Orientation and Safety Training prior to provi

* Training must include introductory information on the topics for Orientat

and Safety.
Topics can be found in WACs 388-112-0016 and 388-112-0019 for AFH/BHs and in-home
WACs 388-71-0846 and 388-71-0855.

e DSHS must approve curricula and instructors before use.

Instructor Qualifications:

e A qualified instructor for orientation and safety (and continuing education) is

an RN Or another person with specific knowledge, training, and work
experience in the provision of direct, hands-on personal care or other relevant
services to the elderly or people with disabilities requiring long term care.

Getting Instructors and Curriculum Approved:

bmit a:
imple, one page department form.

e of contents or class syllabus showing all department required
ry topics.
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70 hours of Basic Training

Core Basic Training

Knowledge and skills needed to Must:

provide personal care effectively and
safely e Add up to 70
hours

Population Specific Basic « Cover core and
Training population

Training related to the unique specific

: competencies as
needs of the population(s) served defined in WAG

On the Job Training e Curriculum and

Not required. If used, apply up to instructors must
twelve training hours towards the be approved by
70 hour basic training requirement DSHS

beginning 7/1/2011 (must meet

requirements outlined in WAC)
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A Closer Look — Core basic training

What?

e Competencies and learning objectives related to a LTC worker providi
care in any setting. Competencies and learning objectives can be found |
WAC 388-71-0911 (same for all settings).

e At a minimum, all Core basic training courses must cover these competencies
and learning objectives. In addition, more learning objectives can be added if
desired.

Curriculum Options:

You may use:

e The current, DSHS developed Revised Fundamentals of Caregiving (RFOC) with
enhancements.

The amount of hours spent on Core basic training must be more than today
(>28). With the increase in training hours, more time must be allotted for:
0 Skills practice.

O Integrating and reinforcement of the skills and knowledge learned.

ditional activities (exercises, videos, etc.).
r own and get it approved.

oved Core basic training curriculum you have permission
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A Closer Look — Population Speci

What?

e Population specific training is training on topics unique to the ¢
the population served.

e Topics include dementia, mental health, developmental disabilities, you
adults with physical disabilities, older adults, adults requiring nurse delegate
care or other topics relevant to the care needs of the population served.

How?
How the Population Specific basic training requirement is met depends on the
care setting.
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Population Specific Basic Training - BHS a

Specialty Courses

AFHs and BHs use any required specialty course(s) in dementia, mental health or DD to
meet part or all of their Population Specific basic training requirement.

Instructors must meet that specialty course’s instructor qualifications.

A specialty course can be enhanced with additional content, activities or skills practice
and training hours added to that topic area. All training materials must be approved by
the department before use.

If the course is required for the AFH or BH, workers must take and pass the DSHS
caregiver specialty test. This is NOT the certification exam through the DOH but the
current DSHS specialty test. AFH workers must also be tested after 1/1/2011.

0 A worker must be awarded a DSHS specialty course certificate after he or she
completes the course and passes the test.

Nurse Delegation Courses

Nurse Delegation for NAs courses can be used to meet population specific training
requirements. The same course policies and instructor qualifications are required as
today. A separate DSHS test is required for all Nurse Delegation Courses. Workers must
a separate course certificate.

elegation cannot be performed under the Home Care Aide Certification.
st either be a NAC or have both a Home Care Aide and NA-R credential.
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Population Specific for Home Care Agencies

e Agencies choose which population specific topics to cover based
population(s) served by their agency.

e Agencies have the option to:
0 Apply to become a community instructor and teach their own staff , or

O Use outside community instructors.

Outside community instructor options
e Community instructors who are not HCAs can:

O Have agency worker’s attend all or part of specialty courses you offer
(they are not required to take the DSHS exam — but can if they complete
all of the training).

0 Enhance an existing specialty course and offer more training hours in that
topic area.

0 Develop your own or teach another DSHS approved population specific

course you have permission to use.

egation for NAs courses can be used to meet the population specific
for HCAs as well. See the previous slide for restrictions.
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A Closer Look — On the Job Training (OJ

OJT training is when a worker successfully demonstrates any or all of the p
care and infection control skills included in Core basic training while working
a client versus in a practice training setting.

During this time, the worker must be observed, coached, and skills training
reinforced when necessary by a person who meets the instructor qualifications for
the 70 hour basic training. The person overseeing OJT training:

O Must become an approved instructor for Core basic training.

O Must verify (e.g. a check off on a DSHS approved skills checklist) and
document the successful completion of the demonstrated skills.

O Does not have to be the same person who taught the Core basic training.

OJT training can count from 1 up to 12 hours towards the 70 hours of basic
training. It is not a requirement to include OJT training hours. It cannot be
included until after 7/1/2011.

munity instructors may wish to offer AFH/BH/HCAs the option of having
rs go to their facility or home to oversee this training.
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Putting it all together
Here are some examples of how this might look.

Example 1:
Community Instructor has instructor and curriculum approval to teach t
hours of basic training, dementia and mental health specialty training, and
Delegation courses. They have also developed their own curriculum for older
adults.

[0 Enhanced RFOC 40

[0 Approved course
on older adults

Dementia specialty (DSHS class)
Mental Health specialty (DSHS class)
urse Delegation Core Training

W O o 00 »

Delegation Diabetes
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Example 2:
Community Instructor has instructor and curriculum approval to t

Population Specific basic training, all of the specialty trainings and has
their own course for younger adults with disabilities.

They offer the Core basic training to all workers in one main group in several
consecutive days. Then, workers split off and take the population specific basic
training relevant to their setting and needs when it is offered by the instructor.

Example 3:
Community Instructor has instructor and curriculum approval to teach their own

developed Orientation, Safety, and Core basic training. The facility or agency
would have to send their staff to another community instructor for the
pulation specific part of the training.
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Home Care Aide Certification
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Home Care Aide Certification

What?

e LTC workers have 150 days from hire to become certified home care aides
(unless exempt from certification). See the Department of Health’s (DOH) WA
246-980-070 for a list of people exempt from certification.

e A LTC worker can no longer provide direct care after 150 days if not a certified
home care aide.

 DOH is responsible for certifying LTC workers as Home Care Aides. The DOH has
hired Prometric to develop and give the required written and skills certification
exam.

Once workers complete the 75 hours of training, they can apply to
take the Home Care Aide Certification exam.
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Certification Steps for LTC workers
1.

Submit an application for certification with a $60.00 certification ap
fee to the DOH within three days of beginning work.

Successfully complete 75 hours of approved training and have a DSHS 75
hour training certificate signed by a department approved instructor.

Submit to Prometric an exam application, with an exam fee of S115, and a
copy of the DSHS 75-hour certificate. Workers must have completed the 75
hours of training before submitting an exam application to Prometric.

Submit to DOH a copy of the 75 hour training certificate.

Take the exam. An independent tester from Prometric administers the
written and skills exam. Exams will also be in Spanish, Viethamese, Korean,
Russian, and Simplified Chinese.

Workers who fail the exam can retake whichever part(s) failed (written or
skills). A worker has to apply for retesting through Prometric, pay a retest
fee for the portion of the exam they are retaking, and reschedule an exam
date. Workers have two attempts to pass a retest.

When a worker passes the certification exam and has submitted all
required information to the DOH, they become a certified home

.prometric.com/WADOH/ for detailed information.
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Community Instructor Role w/Home Care Aide Cert

* Help workers understand certification requirements and process

0 Ask workers if they have applied for certification at the beginning of all
courses. Encourage them to do so if they haven’t.

O Encourage workers to complete the training requirements as soon as
possible to have the best chance of meeting both the 120 and 150 day
deadlines. It is VERY tight timeframe to get the exam completed.

0 Answer worker questions about applications and test process or direct them
to Prometric.

O Review how to apply for the certification exam at the end of a course.

Instructors of Core basic training - preparing workers for the test environment
* Workers will need coaching, reassurance, and practice to be more comfortable
and prepared to be tested by an independent contractor. To the degree
possible:
O Review what will happen during the exam and how it is administered.
O Mirror the Prometric exam process when evaluating each worker’s ability to
perform required skills and understand the course content.
O Apply to become a Prometric test site. Workers are more comfortable taking
exam where they have taken the course.
WW.prometric.com/WADOH/ for detailed information.
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Learn More About the Certification and T

e Review the Prometric website at www.prometric.com/wado
you will find the:

O Certified Home Care Aide Candidate Information Booklet (how to a
to take the exam, information about the written and skills portion of t
test and what happens on test day).

O Forms to apply to set up your Training Program as a Prometric test site.

O In the future, you will find a list of approved test sites, skills checklist,
and the exam application for workers to download.

* Review the DOH website at www.doh.wa.gov/hsga/HCAides/. You will
find:

0 DOH WAC:s for certification and testing.

O The most current information about what the DOH is doing to
implement these rules.
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DSHS Course Certificates

DSHS Course Certificates

 When a community instructor is contracted and their training progra
approved, the department will send DSHS course certificates for each co
they are approved to offer.

O These certificates are unique to that training program and include a
watermark.

0 You will give workers a DSHS course certificate for each course you offer. You
keep a copy.

O It is the worker’s responsibility to:
0 Keep all course certificates.

0 Show them to the instructor signing the DSHS 75 Hour Training
Certificate (see next slide).

orkers taking the Nurse Delegation courses or AFH/BH specialty courses
ass the current DSHS test (don’t confuse this with the DOH certification
re receiving the course certificate.
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DSHS 75 Hour Training Certificate

e A DSHS 75 hour training certificate will also be sent to all contracte
community instructors.

e The 75 hour DSHS training certificate is used to document and verify workers
have completed all required courses and received 75 hours of training from
department approved instructors and curriculum.

O This certificate is signed only when the worker has completed ALL courses
and 75 hours of training.

O For training program offering an entire 75 hour training: Any of the
approved instructors from that training program can sign the training
certificate after verifying the worker has completed 75 hours of training.

O For training programs offering only a portion of the 75 hour training: A
community instructor who provides the 75th hour of training signs the
certificate.

The instructor must look at all of that worker’s DSHS course certificates and
termine the worker has taken all required courses with training hours that
to 75 hours before signing the certificate.
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Continuing Education (CE)

What?

Continuing education is additional caregiving-related training designe
current a worker’s knowledge and skills.

e Beginning July 1, 2011, CE hours increase to 12 hours (until then, 10 hours).
e All curriculum and instructors must be approved by DSHS before use.

Instructor Qualifications:

Instructors must be a RN or another person with specific knowledge, training,
and work experience in the provision of direct, hands-on personal care or other
relevant services to the elderly or people with disabilities requiring long term
care (same as orientation and safety.

Getting Instructors and Curriculum Approved:

ubmit a:
e Simple, one page department form.
able of contents or class syllabus describing what is in the CE.

Department CE approval is anticipated to begin
after the first of the year.
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Getting Ready for 2011

Curricula and instructor approval for the
our training is anticipated to begin the
first part of October, 2010
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Begin Planning...

1. Choose which courses you want to offer (see the next slide
You can offer any course as long as you have DSHS approved ins
and curriculum and become a contracted community instructor.

2. Decide what curriculum you will use to teach each course you want to
offer. You can use:

e DSHS developed curriculums.

e DSHS approved curriculum others have created and you have
permission to use.

e Curriculum you develop and get approved.
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What Courses DSHS Approved Community

Course TO TO TO TO
Boarding Adult Family | Home Individual
Homes Homes Care Providers
Agencies
Orientation X X X Training Partnership only

unless IP doesn’t
complete on time — then
to Community Instructor

Safety X X X Same
Core Basic Training |y X X Same
Population Specific |y X X Same

Basic Training

Specialty X X N/A N/A
(Dementia, MH, DD)
ntinuing X X X Same
tion
ation X X X Same
ial

munity Instructor can offer
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Overview of Instructor and Curriculum Approval ‘

Process

Before you can offer long term care worker courses, you need to:

1. Have instructors who meet the required instructor qualifications for that
course.

2. Decide what curriculum (training materials) you want to use. If you will
not be using DSHS developed curriculum,:

e Develop any new curriculum or enhancements to existing curriculum
you wish to offer and submit it for approval.
e Get permission from others with DSHS approved curriculum to use it.
3. Submit all required forms and materials. The department will not start

processing your application until all required forms and materials are
submitted. To avoid delays, send everything in at the same time.

4. You can only begin offering courses after 1/1/2011 when:

e Your instructors and any new or enhanced curriculum have been
approved by the department.

e There is a new contract signed by you and a department
representative that becomes effective 1/1/2011.

All currently contracted community instructors must reapply

I and sign a new contract with DSHS before offering any long

term care worker courses after 1/71/2011.
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Department Required Forms and Materials

Training Program Approval Form

When you teach ANY required long term care worker courses, you
business is considered by the department to be a “Training Program.”

A Training Program Approval form is required for anyone wanting to
become a community instructor.

The Training Program Approval form communicates to the department:
0 What courses you intend to offer.
0 What curriculum (training materials) you will be using.
0 Who is going to be teaching it (instructors).

Once you have a signed contract with DSHS, it will be important to
communicate any changes to your Training Program to the department.
This includes contact information, adding or removing instructors, or
hanging courses or curriculum. Reporting changes will be done via a
form (under development).
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Instructor Application and Curriculum Appr

Submit Instructor Application forms for all course(s) an instructor will t
your training program.

Instructor qualifications are different for each training. Find Instructor

qualifications for:

O Orientation, Safety Training and CE are found on slide 5.

O Basic training and on the job training can be found in the next two slides.

O Specialty training instructor qualifications are in WAC 388-112-0385 for Mental
Health, 388-112-0390 for Dementia, and 388-112-0395 for DD.

Submit Curriculum Approval forms:
O For any course(s) you develop new curriculum for, or
O When you enhance an existing approved curriculum with new training
materials.
The instructor application and curriculum approval forms are under
development. As soon as they are ready, they will be posted, with instructions on
how to fill them out, on the website.

lease make every effort to support the department in streamlining the approval
ess and download and email completed forms when they are available.
r faxing required forms adds to how long it takes the department to
approve your training program.
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Instructor Qualifications for 70 Hour Tra

General qualifications:
e 21 years old and has not had a professional health care, AFH, BH, or social
services license or certification revoked in Washington.

Education and work experience:

RN with work experience in the last 5 years with the elderly or persons with
disabilities in a community setting; Or

e Associate degree or higher in a health field and 6 months of professional or
caregiving experience within the last 5 years in an AFH, BH, supported living
through DDD, or home care setting; Or

e High school diploma, or equivalent, and 1 year of professional or caregiving

experience within the last 5 years in an AFH, BH, supported living through
DDD per or home care setting.

Teaching experience:
100 hours of teaching adults on topics directly related to the basic training;

s of teaching while being mentored by an instructor who meets
ifications, and must attend a class on adult education.

www.adsa.dshs.wa.gov/1029 Continued on next page '-




Instructor Qualifications for 70
Continued

e The instructor must be experienced in caregiving practices and
capable of demonstrating competency with respect to teaching
the course content or units being taught.

e Instructors who will administer nurse delegation tests must have
experience or training in assessment and competency testing.

e An instructor for nurse delegation core and specialized diabetes
trainings must have a current Washington state RN license in good
standing without practice restrictions.
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More About Contracting

All existing contracts for community instructors expire on 1

The Contract Intake Form (DSHS 27-043) is a DSHS-wide form th
submitted for any entity contracting with DSHS to perform services.

Submit the Contract Intake form at the same time you send in your Traini
Program Approval form and any required instructor applications or curriculu
approval forms.

The new contract period for contracted community instructors after 1/1/2011
will be longer than a year. How long a time period is not finalized.
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Next Steps

1. Visit the ADSA Website www.adsa.dshs.wa.gov/1029 often an
familiar with all of the information currently available and check fo
updates.

2. Check this website to see if the forms are available. We anticipate they
will be available for download the beginning of October.

3. Submit your Training Program Approval form, a Contract Intake form, and
all required instructor applications and curriculum approval forms
(except CE) to the department as soon as possible after the forms
become available. Emailing the forms back to the department is best.

4. Attend the next joint video conference with the DOH and DSHS. Dates
will be announced soon and posted on the website.

: To learn how to order current DSHS curriculums visit:
dsa.dshs.wa.gov/professional/training/manuals.htm.
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